Professional Squash set to resume in October

Professional squash is set to resume in October with a revamped Growthpoint SA Nationals and Growthpoint Interprovincial.

The Nationals will provide more squash players with the chance to compete in the tournament than ever before. The tournament will feature eight regional qualifier events across eight provinces, with the winners qualifying for the main event.

A minimum of 256 men and 128 women are expected to compete in the regionals.

The main event will be held in an all-glass squash court in Brooklyn Mall in Pretoria from 15 to 17 October. Fourteen matches, from the quarter-finals to the finals, will be played across the men’s and women’s divisions.

All matches will be streamed live on the Squash South Africa Facebook and YouTube pages.

The Growthpoint Interprovincial has also undergone changes to prevent large gatherings of teams, due to COVID-19 precautions. For the first time ever, different divisions will be played across the country, with Pretoria, Johannesburg, and Pietermaritzburg set to play hosts.

The tournaments will all be played according to the COVID-19 Risk Mitigation Strategy submitted by Squash South Africa and approved by the Department of Sport, Arts and Culture. The federation has worked closely with government to ensure the full compliance necessary to proceed.

Only the participating squash players, event staff and broadcast team will be allowed on-site in Brooklyn Mall. All participants will be screened prior to the start of each day. Security will ensure no gathering of crowds and safe social distancing. No spectators will be allowed at the tournaments, as well as no hospitality.

Tournament Schedule

1 – 4 October 2020: East London Pre-Qualifier

8 – 11 October 2020: Regional Qualifiers
North West, Northerns, Joburg, Western Province, Free State, Eastern Province, Border, Midlands, KwaZulu Natal

15 – 17 October 2020: Growthpoint SA Nationals (Main Event)
Brooklyn Mall, Pretoria

19 – 23 October 2020: Growthpoint Interprovincial
Pretoria, Johannesburg, and Pietermaritzburg